King of the Hawaiian Steel Guitar

Sol Ho`opi`i

Copyright Year(s): 2006
Format: CD
Price: $0.00

Track List & Samples

(Tracks with sample are bold.)
  1. Palolo
  2. Tomi Tomi
  3. Hualalai
  4. Royal Hawaiian Hotel
  5. E Mama Ea
  6. Hanohano Hawai`i
  7. Ka Mele O Ku`u Pu`uwai
  8. Uheuhene
  9. Hula Blues (Columbia)
  10. Hula Blues (Brunswick)
  11. Hapa Haole Hula Girl
  12. I Like You
  13. Hilo Hattie
  14. Ten Tiny Toes, One Baby Nose
  15. `Akaka Falls
  16. Hula Breeze
  17. Pidgin English Hula
  18. The Lei Vendor
  19. King Kamehameha
  20. To You Sweetheart Aloha

Album Notes

KING OF THE HAWAIIAN STEEL GUITAR - VOL 1 showcases the magical talent of Sol Ho`opi`i. The tracks included on this recording represent some of his finest work, from 1927 through 1936.

Sol (1901-1953) is still regarded as the foremost Hawaiian steel guitarist, ever. His style and flair influenced steel guitar playing all over the world, extending to American Country music.

  6 & 12 String Slack Key   Kawaipunahele   Songs to Remember Hana-Maui   Toru   Over Hawai`i   Kaleo `O Kanilau   The Kui Lee Songbook
Roll over covers for artist and album name. Click for more info.