Noel Okimoto

Copyright Year(s): 2003
Format: CD
Price: $0.00

Track List & Samples

(Tracks with sample are bold.)
  1. Siete Noches
  2. Cinder Cone
  3. Ohana
  4. You Buggah
  5. Liane
  6. Myochlonic Jerk
  7. `Ehukai
  8. Tropi Jazz
  9. San Francisco Rain
  10. Pop's Bop
  11. Displaced
  12. Out Take

Album Notes

OHANA is more than a solo debut for Hawaii's premier jazz drummer. Noel Okimoto has established a distinguished career with his intense and brilliant chops behind the drum kit and also his diverse skills on the piano, vibraphone, marimbas and other assorted instruments in the percussive family. This multi-dimensional CD displays NoelÆs innovative original compositions of Latin jazz, contemporary funk and fusion, straight ahead jazz, and bossa nova. To help him make his musical statement, Noel has gathered some longtime friends -- a distinguished cast of extraordinary musicians from here and around the world who make up his musical family, his æOHANA.

Na Hoku Hanohano Awards :: 2004

Jazz Album of the Year

  Legends of Waikiki   Slack Key Lady   Winds of Waimanalo   Hawaiian Style Ukulele   Equinox   For Always   Imprint
Roll over covers for artist and album name. Click for more info.