Force of Nature

Led Kaapana & Mike Kaawa

Copyright Year(s): 2008
Format: CD
Price: $0.00

Track List & Samples

(Tracks with sample are bold.)
  1. `Opihi Moemoe
  2. Koke`e
  3. Slack Key Tuning Demo
  4. Slack Key Lullaby
  5. He Wehi No Ke Kai
  6. Pu`uanahulu
  7. Medley
    • Moana Chimes
    • My Yellow Ginger Lei
    • Radio Hula
  8. Kaulana O Kawaihae
  9. Kalena Kai
  10. No Ke Ano Ahiahi
  11. Killing Me Softly
  12. E Ku`u Morning Dew
  13. Medley
    • Twelfth Street Rag
    • Sweet Georgia Brown

Album Notes

Recorded live at the Triple Door (Seattle) in 2007, FORCE OF NATURE features two of the world's premiere Hawaiian guitarists. Their separate careers and intertwined musical journeys have evolved in parallel for decades..

Here's Ledward Kaapana -- the incomparable ki ho`alu (slack key guitar) master, ineritor and practitioner of a vast treasure of generations of talent, nuance, virtuosity, and style. Effortless and magical on the `ukulele or autoharp, as he is on guitar.

And the most natural collaborator of all, "Hawaiian Boy" Mike Kaawa -- the under-the-radar 12-string maestro, body surfer, keeper of Hawaiian culture, friend and musical collaborator of Eddie Kamae, integrator of endless styles that echo jazz, ragtime, katchi-katchi, and indefinable trans-Pacific steamer blues.

Na Hoku Hanohano Awards :: 2009

Favorite Entertainer of the Year

  Aloha Hula Hawaiian Style   Night Music   Wa`ahila   A Christmas Promise   Kihei Road   Lei Pua Kenikeni   Hanau Hou
Roll over covers for artist and album name. Click for more info.