Hawaiian From The Heart

Keoki Kahumoku & Herb Ohta, Jr.

Copyright Year(s): 2000
Format: CD
Price: $0.00

Track List & Samples

(Tracks with sample are bold.)
  1. Wahine U`i
  2. Hi`ilawe
  3. Pua Hone
  4. Ka Uluwehi O Ke Kai
  5. Kanaka Wai Wai
  6. Ka`a Ahi Kahului
  7. Po Mahina
  8. Hilo Hanakahi
  9. Laupahoehoe Hula
  10. Pauoa Liko Ka Lehua
  11. Puamana
  12. Hawai`i Aloha

Album Notes

In 1995 Keoki Kahumoku contacted Herb Ohta, Jr. to judge the Annual Youth ‘Ukulele Contest. Who better to spot young talent than Ohta, son of the legendary ‘ukulele virtuoso Herb "Ohta-San" Ohta? The two became instant friends, and with no real game plan in place, they began performing together at private and public functions. They attracted a loyal following and whenever they would play, people would ask if there was a recording in the works.

Five years later, Keoki and Herb have come together in studio to share this partnership with us all. Keoki on slack-key guitar and vocals, and Herb on ‘ukulele eloquently connect us to the heart and soul of Hawaiian music.

Keoki Kahumoku & Herb Ohta, Jr. is:

Keoki Kahumoku
Herb Ohta, Jr.

More work by this artist

  Pau Hana Party   My Isle of Golden Dreams   Twilight in Hawai`i   The 50 Greatest Hawai`i Music Albums   Legends of Waikiki   Launa`ole - Unequalled   Hawaiian Style Ukulele
Roll over covers for artist and album name. Click for more info.