Play With Me Papa

John Keawe

Copyright Year(s): 2010
Format: CD
Price: $0.00

Track List & Samples

(Tracks with sample are bold.)
  1. Warriors
  2. (instrumental)
  3. Play With Me Papa
  4. Kauholo
  5. (instrumental)
  6. E Ilima E
  7. Hanau ‘Ia ‘O Ali`i
  8. (instrumental)
  9. The Hawaiian Man
  10. Kaua‘i Summer Day
  11. (instrumental)
  12. Paniolo Waltz
  13. Pu’uwai Ho’ano
  14. (instrumental)
  15. Mt. Takao
  16. (instrumental)
  17. Kohala Ku’u Home
  18. Guardian Of The Falls
  19. (instrumental)
  20. Kauholo
  21. (solo instrumental)

Album Notes

“PLAY WITH ME PAPA” is the title of the latest release by Hawai`i island songwriter and slack-key guitarist John Keawe. The CD, which consists of all original compositions by John, include seven instrumentals and five vocals.

“Play With me Papa,” the title track is a moving, tug-at-the heart vocal that epitomizes the unconditional and deep love for his grandchildren who add their voices on the chorus.

“Paniolo Waltz” is a beautiful love story of a lonely paniolo who yearns for his sweetheart. John’ s wife Hope joins him with some sweet harmony on this and several other songs. Sonny Lim adds a beautiful track with his dobro guitar and Dave Moran of Colorado contributes with a sweet sounding fiddle.

“The Hawaiian Man,” penned in 1981, still rings true in the message that time has passed but some things remain the same.

“Kauholo” (instrumental) takes you on the journey of Kamehameha I as he is pursued by warriors after his birth. Guest artist/guitarist, Barry Flanagan, evokes the urgency and emotions of that journey by embellishing the song with his extraordinary playing.

Herb Ohta, Jr., ukulele master, collaborates with his impeccable style on an inspiring instrumental entitled “Pu`uwai Ho`ano.”

Other vocals include “E `Ilima E” written for John’s lifelong friend and wife, and “Kohala – Ku`u Home” a song of his homeland.

This CD again brings to the forefront John's talents as a songwriter, slack-key guitarist and arranger. He continues to evolve and elevate in the gifts that he has been given. This CD truly displays the depth and honesty that lives within his heart.

Na Hoku Hanohano Awards :: 2011

Slack Key Album of the Year

  6 & 12 String Slack Key   A True Hawaiian   Native Child   Kihei Road   No Ku`uipo   Rising In Love   Simply Sterling
Roll over covers for artist and album name. Click for more info.