Jess Uke

Jesse Kalima

Copyright Year(s): 2006, 1974, 1962
Format: CD
Price: $0.00

Track List & Samples

(Tracks with sample are bold.)
  1. Kila Kila O Haleakala
  2. Na Ka Pueo
  3. Kukuna O Ka La
  4. King's Serenade (Imi Au Ia Oe)
  5. Haunani Mine
  6. E Lili`u E
  7. Hilo March
  8. Haole Hula
  9. Kaulana O Hilo Hanakahi
  10. Nani Ko`olau
  11. O Makalapua
  12. Kohala March

Album Notes

Jesse Kalima (1920-1980) got his start playing music with his brothers at family lu`au. Over the years he performed throughout Hawai`i and on the mainland...both solo, and as part of The Kalima Brothers, with his brother and cousin.

The best `ukulele players in Hawai`i learned to play by imitating Jesse's technique. His style was often copied, but never truly duplicated.

This CD is a re-release of an earlier vinyl album.

  Facing Future   The Music Anthology 2000   Evening in the Islands   Next Level   Drum Beats of the Pacific - Vol 3   Kaleo `O Kanilau   Live at the Moana Hotel
Roll over covers for artist and album name. Click for more info.