Waimaka Helelei

Dennis Kamakahi & Stephen Inglis

Copyright Year(s): 2012
Format: CD
Price: $0.00

Track List & Samples

(Tracks with sample are bold.)
  1. Waimaka Helelei
  2. Na Pua O Kalaupapa
  3. Kalaupapa Monkseal Daydream
  4. E Na Kini
  5. Pua O Ke Aumoe
  6. Kikania
  7. Eia a‘e o Damiana Ka Makua o Kakou
  8. Kalaupapa My Hometown
  9. Sunset of Kalaupapa
  10. Nai`a Kulapa
  11. Hale Mohalu
  12. Moloka‘i Nui A Hina

Album Notes

In the late summer of 2011, legendary Hawaiian composer and slack key guitarist Dennis Kamakahi met with his friend and student Stephen Inglis to go over a few songs. Dennis was to be a guest artist on a solo album by Inglis. After hearing Stephenʻs composition Nā Pua O Kalaupapa, the two discovered more and more mutual connections with friends and ʻohana at Kalaupapa.The late composer/activist Bernard Punikaiʻa was a close friend of Dennis and Stephen and two of his songs were chosen to record. Inspired by the theme the album was taking on, Dennis composed two new songs about Kalaupapa. At this point it was clearly no longer a solo record and the duoʻs first joint effort; Waimaka Helelei was born.

Many a Sunday of my youth was spent at Hale Mohalu, a residential treatment facility for Hansenʻs disease patients in Pearl City on Oʻahu. By the 1970ʻs, Hale Mohalu had become a gathering place and melting pot for activists with deep concern for human rights, dignity for Hansenʻs patients, Hawaiian rights and the grand dream of world peace. This was our church. Many of my aunties and uncles who now called Hale Mohalu home had spent much of their lives in Kalaupapa. I would not realize how profound the experience of Hale Mohalu had been until I began my regular visits to Kalaupapa as a 30 year old. This album is dedicated with my deepest gratitude to the people of Kalaupapa and Hale Mohalu. – Stephen Inglis 2011

Na Hoku Hanohano Awards :: 2012

Slack Key Album of the Year

  Hui Aloha   Equinox   Master of the Steel Guitar, Vol One   Legends of the Ukulele 2   Come On Home EP   The Horror Show   Travels (10-09-2015)
Roll over covers for artist and album name. Click for more info.